NaNoWriMo

Posted: November 1, 2014 in Writing
Tags: ,

So, I am going to do NaNoWriMo for the first time since I started writing. For those of you that don’t know, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month, where a bunch of half loony, or in my case fully loony, attempt to write a 50,000 word novel in one month. It is supposed to be a new project, technically from what I’ve seen, although I don’t think anyone polices it, so don’t worry. Hell, I’m going to technically cheat myself. I am going to use this challenge as an opportunity to write 5 smaller stories that will be the background stories for the characters I want to put into a more formal project. I figure that it is the effort and the commitment that is important to the whole challenge, so that is what I am shooting for.

I see this challenge as a way to energize and restart my writing career as it were. I let too many things stand in my way, with several physical ailments and what not leaving me too annoyed to write and do the other things I wanted to do. Now it is time for me to really pursue this writing career and write the kind of stories that people will want to turn through. Solid characters will go a long way towards that, and these short stories should give my characters a lot of background to work off of. One of the things that I hope to work on with this challenge is getting my characters to each have their own unique voice within the voice of my writing. We shall see.

From time to time I will check in with a word count and general progress update. I look forward to reading what others are doing out there. If you have a project going and want a cheerleader, drop me a line.

Leave a Reply

