What would it be like?

Posted: March 11, 2013 in Writing

Oh what a tumultuous world we live in. We avoided a fiscal cliff only to find ourselves sequestered. North Korea is threatening to nuke the United States of America, and Lindsay Lohan is in trouble, again. Okay, so no one is really worried about Korea, but that Lohan character scares the crap out of me.

So, what have I been up to as my blog sat here relatively idle? The answer is probably not as much as I should have been, and entirely too much crap. My brain is swirling with story idea after story idea. I have taken to letting each have their way as they come. It is a bit confounding, and progress on each piece seems entirely too slow, but I know things are progressing none the less. I find myself, in times like these, wondering what would it be like to have all the time in the world to do all the writing I wanted? Would I truly be able to just sit and write, hours on end, turning out novel after novel, short story after story? What must that feel like.

I know, in my heart, that I will never be that author. I am not that type of teacher, and I wasn’t that type of student. My best work always came when I just let things flow. Forcing anything else just led to disaster of some type or another. I need to just move along and then look back at the greatness, or ruin, left behind.

To all of you who may look at others and wonder how you can be more like them, ask your self some questions. Will it truly make you happier? Is it really you? If you can’t say yes to both of these, then you should keep pressing on. Greatness, of its own kind, will find you.

Comments
  1. Marcia says:

    You’re right, Jason. Having all the time you want to write is no guarantee of writing faster or better. I’m proof. I’m really not disciplined enough to have all this free time. It’s been hard work to create a workable schedule and stick to it, most of the time.
    Many people work better and smarter when they have to squeeze in time to write. Maybe the few hours they have each week feels valuable enough not to waste them.
    No matter how much writing time is available to you, you have to, as you say, let it flow. When the flow stops, move on to something else – whether it’s another story or a totally different activity.
    I can’t wait to hear about all your new story ideas!

Leave a Reply

