Disconnecting can be useful.

Posted: January 31, 2013 in Writing
Tags: ,

My brain is a bit fuzzed right now, as I am fighting a cold, but I realized that I have been disconnected from my blog and Twitter for one of the longest stretches since I started this whole writing adventure. I started out feeling guilty, as I have unfairly robbed all who care of my wit and advice.

Okay, after reading that last line I have decided that staying away may actually have benefit you all more than me, but you’ll have to tell me if I am right. Let me tell you what staying away for awhile has gained me.

The past three weeks I have been using technology less than I ever have before, even in my writing endeavors. I have taken a pen in hand and a portfolio and letting the words flow in a whole new way. The writing wasn’t nearly as fast, at least I don’t feel it was. It’s a little hard to tell since my memo pad lacks a word count feature. What took me by surprise, however, is that I started choosing my words more carefully. After wasting time and four sheets of paper on words that didn’t make me happy I realized I needed to think a bit more as I work. Somehow the wasted paper is what put this into perspective for me. Even my character development sheets came out more focused. The characters were people I wanted to hang out with and share a beer with.

As the year goes on I will be sharing the fruits of my labor with as many people as will stand it. There are a few gems that will be on my WIP page, including a new installment for my characters in the “Depths of Mystery” story. Just give me a month or so.

Comments
  1. Marcia says:

    It’s good to experiment – finding what works for you is definitely important to the quality of your writing. And stepping away from technology can allow you to see everything else differently – we pay more attention to what’s right in front of us when we’re not focused on what’s on the screen.
    Hope you feel better soon and good luck with your new writing style!

Leave a Reply

