Lost in a World I Forgot to Design

Posted: September 17, 2012 in Writing
Tags: ,

I would like to point out that I am actually a fairly intelligent guy. Not everything that I post proves my point, but if you look closely you will find some gems amongst the writings here. That being said i have certainly put myself in quite the conundrum.

I am happily working on my YA fantasy novel (it is a story that is in my head and has been for a decade) and I have this awesome sweeping journey that is my main character’s “final exam” of sorts. I am happily plotting, and plodding, my way along when I realize that I am lost. According to my words I have made my character walk in pretty much a circle for several days. Not wanting him to fail his exam I needed to figure out how such a thing could have happened. Let me check a few things here:

Notes on major characters- check
Notes on minor characters- check
Notes on major plot points- check
Notes on minor plot points- check
Interrelationships plotted- check
World map done for reference- ????

World map? How could I forget to make a world map? Even a small draw as I go one? I’ve played RPGs for years and am always the map maker for my group. I have even drawn maps for the fun of it. Now I have a real reason for a map and I don’t draw one?!

What an idiot.

My job for the next couple of weeks is to backtrack through my novel and create the map for the region that I need. I don’t see it as time loss, mind you. A world map is a necessity. I just wish I had been smart enough to do it at the beginning of writing the book, as I am sure that there will now be that much more editing needed.

My writing tip for all of you is to create a checklist of things that you feel your story needs before you get stuck in too deep. It will make the work that much easier and diminish the amount of revisions that you will need to go through later.

Until we meet again keep writing and reading. It is what separates us from the animals. (That and our need to destroy our planet’s natural resources, but that is a different story for a different day.)

Comments
  1. catwoods says:

    Oh how true and timely your post is. Thanks for reminding me that what I see in my head isn’t what gets down on my paper.

    I’m off to make a map!

Leave a Reply

