Vacation

Posted: August 14, 2012 in Teaching, Writing

Today finds me in the middle of my family’s vacation at Smuggler’s Notch Resort in Vermont. I have to say that I feel more relaxed now than I have most of the summer. I hypothesize that it has to do with the general lack of household ‘things to do’ staring me in the face. For this post I want to share with you the clarity of mind that vacation away from my home has given me versus staying at home all summer.

The first thing that I am noticing is that my mind is now capable of holding several project ideas for both writing and teaching at once. I am no longer distracted by the cleanliness of the house or the lawn that needs mowing. True, the lawn probably needs mowing right now, but what am I going to do about it? I’m 400 miles away. So I put it aside. Today I painted outside in the morning for the first time ever. It was amazing. I also wrote in my YA novel, which now stands at 20000 words. I have even started editing my children’s story this week. Add to that two new ideas for my classroom and it is a more productive half week than I normally get all year. And I have also toured major parts of Vermont on top of all that.

Since I am on vacation, I am going to sign off, but I encourage all of you to take a vacation to increase your productivity. It doesn’t have to be what I am doing, but let the normal distractions slide for a day or more so that you can truly focus.

Until next time, have fun and stay safe.

Leave a Reply

