It’s all about POV

Posted: April 26, 2012 in Writing
Tags:

Okay, so I am a little behind this week. My new writing class is robbing me of some time, but I am loving it so far.

Today I want to talk about point of view. This is one of the things that gets talked about a lot in every genre and every class I have ever taken. Most of you out there have probably heard this talked about enough and are wondering why you should continue. Well, let me answer you. You should continue on because I am not going to give an in depth treatise. I am going to give the quickest tip I have ever thought of.

When you find the your writing is getting bogged down go back to a recent scene and rewrite it from the POV of another character in the scene. You will find that the world, even your fictional one, looks different depending on who is sharing their feelings. Try this. Write a scene where a mother,who studied art in college, is walking through an art museum with her husband. He agreed to go because of his love for her, but he doesn’t understand the appeal at all. Besides, there is baseball to watch at home.

I would like to see what you come up with here. I will post my effort on Sunday when I ge back on schedule.

Happy writing

Oh and here is a fun example of different points of view.

20120426-231219.jpg

Leave a Reply

