Have a beer.

Posted: April 15, 2012 in Writing
Tags: ,

I’m sure that there is at least one Coor’s Light fan out there that is going to be upset when he discovers that this post does not contain a free beer. Hopefully they will like what I have to say and won’t show up outside my window tonight.

I am writing today to suggest another way to make sure that you get through the writing of your masterpiece novel. Get together with another author and share a beer with them. Set up a regular meeting time at your favorite watering hole and discuss your writing with each other. Bring samples regularly and let each other know what you like. Many an author struggles to get through a piece of work due to fear that what they are writing is not good enough and the lack of a deadline. Well, if you and our buddy share only what you like about a piece of work, and promise to come up with a set number of pages each week, then you can kill both of those problems.

My most productive writing moments have come when I have had people reading my work and sharing what hey liked. It is really nice to hear positive remarks. It was also good to have honesty. No one lied and said they liked something that was truly horrendous. Promising to give others your work also helps you stick to a writing schedule.

Tomorrow I plan on finding a new writing partner as I embark on my next novel. Declan Anders is going to find himself in an uneasy alliance to aid a student. I want to get a lot of pages written over the coming summer. I advise you to do the same.

Comments
  1. Joe Pineda says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more. Writing is such a solitary endeavor in the first place that we wind up shutting ourselves away from the world. We either become too protective of our work and too suspicious of the intentions of others.

    I didn’t know how wrong I was until I met my current editor, a person who has been really dedicated to polishing my work while making sure it retains my original vision. I haven’t taken him for drinks –hell, I’m not even sure he drinks in the first place– but I definitely should.

  2. Marcia says:

    Good advice, Jason. Closing yourself off in your solitary world is definitley not the way to go. Good luck with the new novel and finding a writing partner. I am lucky enough to have a whole group, women and men I took a class with, to share rants, ideas and resources. We built-in beta readers, published and non-pubbed authors, traditionally and self-pubbed. It’s great mix and don’t think the journey would be as much fun or inspiring without them.

    • jmcmurray says:

      I agree with all of that, but what I am referring to here is more intimate. More of a way to keep you going and not so much about ranting and ideas. The goal is to have scheduled due dates and regular positive reinforcement during the drafting stages. I have just set up with my friend to do a weekly pub and read for the summer months.

Leave a Reply

