A quick Writing Tip

Posted: April 1, 2012 in Writing
Tags: ,

Okay, so today (tonight really) I am researching and learning about this whole finding a publisher thing. I had done a little before, but now it is serious. As a result I have been a total slacker and didn’t realize that it is Sunday already. Luckily I do have a simple tip to share with you that will hopefully open your eyes to new possibilities.

For those of you who don’t know me well, and I might as well include myself in this list, I am a man of very diverse distractions. I continually say that I should have been born during the Renaissance. One of these distractions is playing bass and singing in a band. I have been involved in music for nearly my entire life, and it has a big impact in my writing as well. This brings me to my tip for the week.

REWRITE A SONG.

I am not kidding. Take a song that you like to listen to and write new lyrics for it. Pick an topic of interest to you and make the lyrics fit the original notes and rhythm of the original. Right now I am doing this for a scientist that I know. I am making a set of lyrics to the song “The Devil Went Down to Georgia” by Charlie Daniels. It is a remarkably challenging exercise. Writing just a set of lyrics is a challenge. Getting those lyrics to both make sense and fit the pacing and timing that someone else developed is altogether different. I have found myself writing down an idea, attempting to sing it and realizing that it doesn’t work at all. Back to the drawing board, and I have to make sure it still makes sense.

I feel this prepares you well for  writing any length piece of work, especially when you reach the editing stage. Every story has a pace and rhythm that goes throughout the work. When you go to edit you often find that some areas drag or make you stumble. These areas are off in pace or rhythm. It is important to fix these areas for the story to work well. Re-writing a song will get you more in touch with this process.

The next time you are looking for something to write, write a song.

Then sing!

Leave a Reply

