I’m Baaaaacck

Posted: March 25, 2012 in Writing
Tags: ,

I want to thank everyone who sent their well wishes the past week to me. It is greatly appreciated. Now, I would like to get into my writing tip for this week.

This past week I had precious little time and even less focus to work very hard on my WIPs. I didn’t want to be totally sedentary either, so I decided to try something. I downloaded an app to my iPad called A Novel Idea. I then saw that it had a scene tab where you can work on, you guessed it, scenes!

Now, you’re going to say, “Jason, what’s the point of telling us that there is software that you can work on a scene? That’s not news!”

I have a two part answer for you:

First, I like my new iPad. It’s a lot of fun, and I have found a new level of legitimate productivity with it. Second, the software is not the focus, but what I have done with it is. I started working on scenes. This tab on the app is not meant to write out the whole scene. It is more of an outliner where you put in the tension level, plot type, time, location and a description of events. You also have the option of attaching the sent to an act for a specific novel.

Now I had notes for my works in progress 1200 miles away from me, so I decided o create som generic scenes. I worked on what the scenes would look like. What level of tension would I put into the scene. I made a few characters to serve as fillers or now, if they become real I will make hem more rounded. My focus here was o to work on the ‘set’ of my scene. I started worrying more about avoiding the ‘white room’ effect that plagues many a writer. I found that I made a better and more descriptive scene when I wasn’t worrying about what my very real characters were doing (I assure you that all of my characters are real to me. If yours aren’t to you, then why should I care about them? Think about it).

What an eye-opener. It was liberating not to worry about a story. As an added benefit I am starting to build up a little collection of scenes that just may find their way into a story someday.

I suggest that you try this sometime. Think of a place and a mood and make a scene out of it. Try different combinations of crowds and generic characters. Change the weather and rewrite one of the scenes. Have one of the characters hindered by some event. Do it all again and again. You will thank me.

This is all for today’s writing tip. I hope it all sees you well.

Comments
  1. Marcia says:

    Thank you. 🙂
    This is a great idea, Jason, with or without the iPad and Novel Idea. It’s a great way to get ideas down and practice writing to get things flowing.
    Glad you’re back and doing better. Been thinking about you.

Leave a Reply

