Trying Something New

Posted: March 4, 2012 in Writing
Tags: , ,

ImageLet me tell you a something. I do not like roller-coasters. Don’t get me wrong, I have ridden on many a roller-coaster in my lifetime, but I hate it every time. The roller-coaster pictured here took me years to work up the courage to ride, and all it does is spin around.

I know.

I’m a two-hundred ninety pound wimp.

Let me just remind you that I just received my blue belt in Tae Kwon Do before you go laughing at me.

So, like I was saying. I finally road this roller-coaster and my eyes never opened once during both rides. I even had one of my eighteen year-old students with me on the second trip and she was brutal in her mockery. You want to know something? I didn’t care.

I rode the beast and lived to tell it.

I feel that it is this desire to constantly try something new, regardless of how scary, that everyone who desires to write needs to embrace. If we stay in our comfort zone too long, it will start to show in what we do. We will no longer turn out our best work.

I am not condemning staying in one genre. There is nothing wrong with that at all. There is a level of competence that comes from that consistency.

Just look at what other genres have to offer. There may be ideas from one genre that you can use in your own writing. Maybe there are aspects of horror that you can use to add tension to your romance. Maybe there is a bit of the love element you can add to your gritty crime novel. The only way to find out is to go out there and look. You may be surprised.

In April I am going to be living by my own words. I will be taken a Children’s Book Writing class online at Gotham Writer’s Workshop. I had never thought about writing a children’s story before, but when I saw the workshop I got all sorts of nervous and giddy. I felt like I was going to go on a new roller-coaster. In that moment I knew that I had to take the course. Every time I have finished riding a coaster I was filled with a new life. I knew that taking this class would do the same thing as I move forward in my writing career. Besides, my daughter will love the results if nothing else.

As the years go by I hope to constantly do new things that challenge and scare me in my writing. I advise you to do the same. I’m sure the results will be worth it.

Have a good week, and I’ll see you Wednesday.

Comments
  1. Marcia says:

    I was just thinking about writing in different genres…maybe keeping an element the same throughout…like romance or mystery.
    Good luck with your class. That’s exciting! you would be so good at a children’s story! With so few words, they are hard to write well. I’ve tried it. But you’re right…your baby girl will love it and maybe you can inspire her to write her own in a couple of years when she can actually write. 🙂 Love the picture of my little sweetheart!

Leave a Reply

