What do you like to do as you perculate?

Posted: October 18, 2011 in Writing

So, here I sit. Waiting for several beta readers to read my first novel and trying to figure out the basics of my next one. I don’t know about you, but I can’t just do nothing. I need to let creativity come out anyway it can. Working on my next story is stalled, somewhat, becase I want to see what needs adjustment in the first one. I’m sure that there are those who will say that I could go forward, but they do not know me. I must therefore soldier on.

Enter watercolors. I often think that I should have been born during the European Renaissance era. I like to do too many things. My wife sometimes wants to kill me, except that she is somewhat the same. I have decided to take up watercolor painting. I already paint historical and fantasy miniatures, but that is horrifically expensive. I could buy enough paint supplies for the entirety of Rembrandt’s collection with what I have already purchased for miniatures. Besides, there is generally no need to paint a miniature unless you need it for a game. A painting, on the other hand, can be done because you are inspired. Something catches your eye and it must be done. I think it is a lot like writing.

I have already done one 8X11 picture that my son has claimes, and am working on a monotone work that is half-good. It is also getting me to think about setting and mood in my writing, which is a bonus. Maybe I will attempt to create my own cover art with my new skill (do adults buy books with covers that look like a blind cow did them?)

Anyway, what things do you do as you await your next stroke of genius? I would really like to hear from you.

Comments
  1. Marcia says:

    What will I do when I’m waiting for my novel to be read…hmmm, probably more writing. Or maybe I’ll go back to painting my chairs…the dozen or so in the basement that have been waiting patiently for me to get back to them. I’m happy you’re only driving your wife crazy and not yourself while you wait. Shouldn’t be too much longer on my end. I know what you can give your in-laws for Christmas, now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

