Yeah!

Posted: August 24, 2011 in ROW80 Check

I generally don’t go for the self-congratulatory message, but I will make an exception. My first draft of my novel “Professional Development” is complete and in the hands of my scrutinizing wife. After she tells me what she wanted more of I will  read it and then also determine what seems to be lacking as well. Then it is re-write time. A second draft, then another re-read and then final touches.

How did I know I was done. My characters had nothing left to do. I started to write another scene the other day, and it was akin to my characters twiddling their thumbs. They were doing something for the sake of doing it.

Now, I still have more words to write during this challenge. While the critique is occurring I am going to start work on my second story. This one is still a mystery, but with a small hint of the paranormal to it. NO VAMPIRES OR ANYTHING LIKE THAT. Just a subtle stretching of human senses.

Comments
  1. Em says:

    It must be such a good feeling when a first draft is finished, congratulations! Very useful to have a scrutinizing wife! I hope your work on your new WIP goes well!

  2. Marcia says:

    Congrats, Jay!! You wrote fast! Looks like you will be done by the end of the year!

  3. Rita says:

    Congratulations Jason…. it sounds interesting…..

  4. Nothing is more incredible than finishing a rough draft. If everyone could do it, they would. As it is, only a small handful actually make it from once upon a time to the end.

    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

