Get out of a rut

Posted: August 3, 2011 in Writing
Tags:

Today’s post is being brought to you courtesy of my Blackberry. That also means that it will be short but sweet as my sausage fingers were not made for this type of work.

Let us talk about ruts. We all fall into those moments where we get lost as to what the next step is. Writer’s block, apprehension, fear. All of these things and more can leave you spinning the wheels on your project.

So, how do you escape the rut? There are several suggestions, I’m sure. I’m going to give you my go to solution. GET OUT! Take your wrting materials and get away from your dungeon. Go to the Library, the park, your spouse’s workplace (that’s where I am right now). Just get yourself to a new venue.

You see, the brain needs stimulation in order to be creative. Sitting in the same room as you write can be comforting, I know that, but writing in a new venue can cause an explosion of productivity. Your senses are bring given new stimuli to process. This is activating your brain’s logic centers as you try to make sense of it all. Blood flow increases to the brain allowing for even more activity. Now you just focus that activity and presto, the rut is cleared.

I hope this writing tip helps you the next time you are in a rut. Now it is time for me to go be productive on my novel, “Professional Development”.

Comments
  1. Marcia says:

    Great advice, Jason. I do need to get out more than just the grocery store. lol

Leave a Reply

