July 31st Update

Posted: August 1, 2011 in ROW80 Check

So. Here I am in the last month before I have to worry about education the youth of america. The last month for some major headway in my novel. I would be lying if I said that I wasn’t scared. Only this is different.

You see, I love my job. It just doesn’t usually leave me a lot of writing time. In the summer I am most productive between nine and noon. During the school year I teach then, so my writing shifts to night time. That normally means that a lot of writing doesn’t get done during the school year.

This time, however, I am fearful because this time I need to find a way to read, re-read, have others read, and edit my work. I want a finished MS by the end of the year. That is what I fear. A finished work both excites and scares me. What if no one likes it? What if everyone likes it?

ROW80 has been a great boon to me, as it has really kept me on track even with the distractions that surround me. TV watching is down, as is computer time. I am still on the same words per day pace as I originally set out. It has been the best bit of writing that I have done in a long time. I am only 20000 words from my goal now.

I would like to thank all the ROW80 folks out there. I read your updates for inspiration, and I want to say sorry for not commenting on all of you, but I need to get back to writing. After all, there are murders to solve.

Comments
  1. Marcia says:

    I’m so happy for your progress! Okay so Plan A is to have all the writing and editing and rewriting done by 12/31. If Plan A doesn’t work out, there are 25 other letters of the alphabet. PLan B might be Jan 31st. But, I know you’ll get it done as fast as you can. That’s my goal, too. I have to get better at structuring my days. I’m at the other end of the spectrum…I have about 20,000 words done. Congrats on how far you’ve come…and good luck with reaching your goal!

    • jmcmurray says:

      Thanks, Marcia. I have a good groove going today. I am writing, cleaning, and blogging in shifts. I think I can get 1500 words done today alone. I have started the process of fleshing out some scenes. Trying to ground them, as it were. They really come together when I do that.

Leave a Reply

