ROW Update Time

Posted: July 21, 2011 in ROW80 Check

I sit here today to let you know that I have brought my story up over 45000 words.  My pace is a tad behind the 750 that I originally set, but that’s okay on two fronts:

1. I have done a lot of re-reading of my story to get back into it, and have identified areas that need connections. I also have found characters that need some “me” time. Time for me to make them more than a backdrop to the main story.

2. I no longer think my goal is to reach 100,000 words. My new goal is somewhat shorter, around 70-75,000 words. Why this change? Well, it has nothing to do with laziness. It has to do with where the story is going. Oh sure, there are things to add in, but I am not doing a historical piece here. It is a simple matter of what the story seems able to hold. As I looked at what I have planned to finish, it feels like a 250-300 page book. A good quick read (hey, I like what I read. It is guaranteed one fan at least). To try and stretch it out any farther would mean adding in a bunch of tangents that just confuse the whole thing. It isn’t meant to be epic, therefore I won’t force it.

Now, I just need to make sure that I give this poor thing the best I have. Then I can enjoy the art of revision.

Leave a Reply

