AROWIED First Day

Posted: July 5, 2011 in Writing
Tags: ,

Okay, so the acronym is a bit off. Sue me.

Just thought I would give a brief report on the A Round of Words in Eighty Days challenge.

Day one saw a flurry of action from myself. I read a large chunk of my manuscript, moved a few pieces around (Have I mentioned the yWriter software I use. Remind me to sometime), and then exceeded my expectations with 850 words. Not bad on July 4th with tons of Family activities going on.

From here on out I am going to go with a weekly report format for this challenge. There are two reasons for this. The first one is time. I don’t want to have to worry about how much time I have to make a post. I also don’t think that daily reporting really helps others that are trying to achieve something as well. Who has that much time to read that many posts. The second reason is that weekly goals are really what I am about. Let me explain.

As a school teacher I make lesson plans and then weekly plans. This allows me to prepare for the upcoming week appropriately, but not lose sight on what is going on in the present moment. I actually find myself achieving more. It also makes it so that I can roll with the punches. If a concept is hard on the students I can revisit it and then just adjust the following weeks accordingly. Eventually there is a concept that is grasped quicker than expected. For this challenge I have a weekly challenge of 5500 words per week. As long as my weekly number is reached, my daily average is as well. Slower days at the keyboard are balanced by those days when things just fly.

If you find a daily target to be daunting, try expanding your view. Do weekly, or even monthly. Give yourself a target date and a goal for that date. Make it a manageable chunk for how your brain works. Monthly goals scare me almost as much as daily ones. Too big a number.

Good luck to all of you in all that you attempt. I will leave you with this quote by Colin Powell: “If you are going to achieve excellence in big things, you develop the habit in little matters. Excellence is not an exception, it is a prevailing attitude.”

Peace.

Comments
  1. My compliments on your very clever post Around the Words in Eighty Days.

  2. Correction: Around of Words in Eighty Days.

  3. jmcmurray says:

    Thank you for visiting, madam. I always hope to entertain with what I put out there. Entertainment and education seem to be what I am about. I hope you stop back sometime.

Leave a Reply

