The Craft, Part II

Posted: January 6, 2011 in Writing

Okay, so I said a little bit on the craft of writing. There is also the craft of homebrewing to be considered.

I will mostly concern myself on this site with writing, but brewing will rear its head from time to time. This is the first time.

The craft of homebrewing to me is musch the same as writing. There are a lot of different elements that need to be combined in the right way in order to get the desired result. To anyone that is interested in taking on this hobby, here is my advice: Take it easy.

What do I mean about that? Well, it is rather simple. When brewing, whether from a beginner’s kit or going all out with mashing your own grains, you need to take it easy. Nothing is gained from rushing the process. If you don’t take the time to sanitize, boil, ferment, and carbonate the beer properly, you won’t like the results.

I have had the fortune of turning out good beer consistently. I would like to say that I am just amazing, but I think it has more to do with the job I had as a lab technician. That job taught me early on that if I rushed and didn’t pay attention to the process, I was bound to make the boss mad. I also couldn’t take too long to get things done, as that would also anger the man. Luckily I didn’t make many mistakes at all. In fact, I got promoted to a special project at the lab. I will always be thankful to John Myers for the lessons that I learned while at Equine Drug Testing at Cornell University.

Where was all this going? Oh yeah, beer and craft. Another thing that people need to do when they are brewing is to create what they like. I remember one time when I was planning to brew a British Mild Ale. I posted the recipie on a Yahoo group. I believed that it was going to be a challenging recipie, as there was not a lot of hops to mask off flavors. Most people in the group boo-hooed the low alcohol content the beer was going to have and claimed that the beer was going to be flavorless.

They were dead wrong. It was low in alcohol, but the malt flavors really shown through. That 5 gallon batch was absolutely downed at one party with my friends. They loved the flavor and couldn’t believe it was low in alcohol. It was the latter that made it possible to drink as much as we did.

In both writing and brewing I advise that you do what you like, and adhere to the craft. Pay attention to what you are weak in, and experiment with new ideas. Most of all, have fun.

Leave a Reply

