A simple thought on craft.

Posted: January 6, 2011 in Writing
Tags: , ,

As a novice writer, I originally thought that I should stay away from talking about the craft of writing. There are probably some published authors out there that would tell me to shut my mouth right now.

I have decided that this is not fair. I do know a bit about the craft of writing. Also, since I am in the growth stage of my talent and learning,  I have the ability to talk about some of the early pitfalls that can plague a potential author from recent occurences of my own.

The one thing that I have noticed about writing in general is that you can never describe too much. I’m talking about setting here. Readers want to know what surrounds the characters as much as they want to know the characters themselves. Let’s face it, how act and react is as much a matter of surroundings as it is who is with us. In public a couple might be less prone to getting into a screaming match than when they are in the privacy of their own home.

In a couple of workshops I took with Nancy Kress, at Writer’s and Books in Rochester, NY, she was very passionate in saying, “Make your scenes more smelly”. I was pretty sure that she wasn’t talking about drowning the pages in cologne. What she was getting at, and what I am starting to do, is to get the senses involved for the reader, and don’t just stop with the visual. We have five senses, use them all.

If you read the two pieces that I have posted, you will hopefully see my progress as a writer. I believe that the second piece is more “stinky” than the first. Am I already there? I hope not. I have a lot to learn, and even more to write. You should probably be doing the same.

Comments
  1. Our sense of smell is our most powerful sense as far as making memories and connections with present information. I also think it is the one that is the most often ignored when describing setting. I believe every writer has valuable information to share. Share away!

Leave a Reply

